Chilli Cottage Pie

Due to my roomie being an amazing cook and making dinner for me on numerous occasions, I figured it was time for me to repay the favour. I’m not a great cook – well actually it’s not that I can’t cook, I just never make the effort. I’m all for the easy and quick options, but I do want to try out some recipies I have stored up. Tonight I went for Chilli Cottage Pie, a traditional English dish with a bit of spice.

Ingredients:
2 tsp of olive oil
2 tsp of cumin seeds
2 large sweet potatos
1 tin of kidney beans
1 tin of chopped tomatos
2 cloves of garlic
1 chilli
1 onion
500g of mince meat
This is very easy to make. Heat up the oil in a large pan and put in the chopped onion along with the cumin seeds. Next put in the mince meat and stir until brown. Next put in the chilli chopped, the garlic crushed and the tins of chopped tomatos and kidneys beans, half a cup of water and stir. Put a lid on the pan and leave to simmer for 20-30mins. Peel the sweet potatos and chop them into chunks before boiling them in salted water. Wait until they are soft before turning into a mash, and season if you wish. Spoon the mince into an oven proof dish and then using a spoon put the mash over the top. Use a fork and even out the mash, making lines as you go. Then grill for 5mins on a high heat and you’re done!
Easy peasy! I’ll definitely try this again. My roomie helped herself to two more servings, and I must say myself it was very tasty. Let me know if you give it a try!
This entry was posted in Gembear's Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chilli Cottage Pie

  1. barelyvogue says:

    Yummers!! need to try this thanks for sharing
    xx
    Sahi
    http://www.barelyvogue.com

  2. Emma says:

    This looks so delicious, I wish I were a better cook but I’m like you, I rarely make the effort.

    Emma
    TheSidewalkIsMyRunway

  3. woooah, pictures of food right before I sleep O.o pictures of looking-very-good food!

  4. Joanna says:

    mmm, this looks delicious & so appropriate for the cool Autumn weather.
    Lovely blog – I am your newest follower!
    xx

Leave a Reply

